Our summer sales. Take advantage of it, up to -50% on a selection of items It’s here

Lafont

180 years of history.

Faithful to its values ​​for more than a century and a half while being on the lookout for innovations, the Lafont brand, inventor of the first carpenter's pants and the famous overalls, is still a leader in the professional clothing market with a reputation without equal.

1844

Louis Lafont, Adolphe's grandfather and Pyrenean peddler, decided to open a store in Lyon, having seen the potential of the fabric trade stimulated by the flourishing silk trade. After marrying a Caladoise woman, he settled permanently at 25 Grande Rue de la Guillotière in Lyon. His son will take over the operation of the store, adding a tailor's workshop to complete the department of fabrics and ready-made clothing.

1896

Adolphe Lafont takes over the reins of the family store with great ambitions. Noting the success of the clothes made in the workshop and probably wishing to dissuade competition, he decided to register the name “Adolphe Lafont” in 1896 and to create easily recognizable labels.

Thus, he established the first work clothing brand registered in France.

The workers are satisfied with the clothes I sell them, if I put my name on it, they would remember me.

Adolphe Lafont

1870 - 1952

1904

It was at this time that he began making his first velvet pants, inspired by an idea from his maternal grandfather. Without a sewing machine, he must make them by hand. Faced with a lack of space, he decided to approach banks and, in 1904, purchased land in the Monplaisir district of Lyon to build a factory, thus replacing the first workshop located next to the store.

1911

The reputation of Lafont clothing is established, but Adolphe Lafont is not satisfied with it. A new project catches his attention. Although the fabrics purchased, from various regions, are of very good quality, he wants to offer workers the best clothing at a fair price. To do this, he must internalize the dyeing and handling of fabrics, as well as spin the cotton himself.

In 1911, he achieved his objective by acquiring a dyeing and finishing factory in Villeurbanne which he operated until 1925.

1919

As the factory became too cramped, he acquired 5,000 m² of land adjacent to the existing factory to facilitate transport. Despite the difficulties of installing such a factory in the region, he is not stopping there. In 1919, he bought a 20,000 m² plot of land in Villeurbanne and built a 6,000 m² factory there, capable of accommodating 400 looms.

He then transformed what was a company in its own name into an SCA.

Lafont, over the years

  • 1997

    The André group sells Adolphe Lafont to the Dutch company KLM Kleding.

  • 2000

    KLM Kleding is absorbed by the Danish group Kansas Wenaas.

  • 2003

    The Kansas Wenaas group changes its name to Kwintet.

2016

Lafont was bought in 2016 by the Cepovett family group, based in Gleizé, very close to the brand's headquarters. This acquisition could not come at a better time, because Cepovett, a European leader in work clothing, is joining forces with a premium brand for which it has great ambitions.

“By taking over the brand in 2016, we were keen to protect this know-how and promote the historic aura of Lafont, which benefits from a strong image among craftsmen and SMEs. Our objective is to strengthen the capital of the brand with a premium positioning, complementary to that of Cepovett Safety".

Gaël Vanneuville & Nicolas Sandjian

pin_drop

Nos soldes d'été. Profitez-en, jusqu'a -50% sur une sélection d'articles C'est par ici

Lafont

180 ans d'histoire.

Fidèle à ses valeurs depuis plus d’un siècle et demi tout en étant à l’affût des innovations, la marque Lafont, inventrice du premier pantalon de charpentier et de la fameuse salopette, est toujours leader sur le marché du vêtement professionnel avec une notoriété sans égale.

1844

Louis Lafont, grand-père d’Adolphe et colporteur pyrénéen, décide d'ouvrir un magasin à Lyon, ayant perçu le potentiel du commerce de tissus stimulé par le florissant négoce de la soie. Après avoir épousé une Caladoise, il s'installe définitivement au 25 Grande Rue de la Guillotière à Lyon. Son fils reprendra l'exploitation du magasin, y ajoutant un atelier de tailleur pour compléter le rayon de tissus et de vêtements confectionnés.

1896

Adolphe Lafont reprend les rênes du magasin familial avec de grandes ambitions. Constatant le succès des vêtements confectionnés dans l'atelier et souhaitant probablement dissuader la concurrence, il décide de déposer le nom « Adolphe Lafont » en 1896 et de créer des étiquettes facilement reconnaissables.

Ainsi, il établit la première marque de tenue de travail déposée en France.

Les ouvriers sont satisfaits des vêtements que je leur vends, si j’y mettais mon nom, ils se souviendront de moi.

Adolphe Lafont

1870 - 1952

1904

C'est à ce moment qu'il commence à confectionner ses premiers pantalons de velours, inspiré par une idée de son grand-père maternel. Sans machine à coudre, il doit les réaliser à la main. Face au manque d'espace, il décide de solliciter les banques et, en 1904, achète un terrain dans le quartier de Monplaisir, à Lyon, pour y construire une usine, remplaçant ainsi le premier atelier situé à côté du magasin.

1911

La renommée des vêtements Lafont est établie, mais Adolphe Lafont ne s'en satisfait pas. Un nouveau projet retient son attention. Bien que les tissus achetés, provenant de diverses régions, soient de très bonne qualité, il souhaite offrir aux travailleurs les meilleurs vêtements à un prix équitable. Pour cela, il doit internaliser la teinture et la manutention des tissus, ainsi que filer lui-même le coton.

En 1911, il atteint son objectif en acquérant une usine de teinture et d’apprêt à Villeurbanne qu’il exploitera jusqu’en 1925.

1919

L'usine devenant trop exiguë, il acquiert un terrain de 5000 m² adjacent à l'usine existante pour faciliter les transports. Malgré les difficultés d'installation d'une telle usine dans la région, il ne s'arrête pas là. En 1919, il achète un terrain de 20000 m² à Villeurbanne et y fait construire une usine de 6000 m², capable d'accueillir 400 métiers à tisser.

Il transforme ensuite ce qui était une société en nom propre en SCA.

Lafont, au fil des années

  • 1997

    Le groupe André cède Adolphe Lafont à la société hollandaise KLM Kleding.

  • 2000

    KLM Kleding est absorbée par le groupe danois Kansas Wenaas.

  • 2003

    Le groupe Kansas Wenaas change de nom pour devenir Kwintet.

2016

Lafont est racheté en 2016 par le groupe familial Cepovett, basé à Gleizé, tout près du siège de la marque. Ce rachat ne pouvait pas mieux tomber, car Cepovett, un leader européen du vêtement de travail, s'associe ainsi à une marque premium à laquelle il porte de grandes ambitions.

"En reprenant la marque en 2016, nous avions à cœur de protéger ce savoir-faire et de valoriser l’aura historique de Lafont, qui bénéficie d’une forte image auprès des artisans et des PME. Notre objectif est de renforcer le capital de la marque avec un positionnement premium, complémentaire de celui de Cepovett Safety".

Gaël Vanneuville & Nicolas Sandjian